This year, the Council of Fashion Designers of America became a lot cooler. First, they moved venues from the Hammerstein Ballroom to the Brooklyn Museum, then they tapped Insecure star Issa Rae to host.

Some of this year’s nominees were last year’s stars, too: Raf Simons was nominated for Womenswear Design and Menswear Design after winning awards in both categories last year. Streetwear, once again, was a hot ticket with repeat nominations for Supreme’s James Jebbia and Off-White’s Virgil Abloh. Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen have also been nominated for Womenswear and Accessories Design for The Row, and after some truly stellar collections, the recognition is well-deserved.

An extra-exciting nod was given to Pyer Moss, nominated in the Emerging Talent section, as well as Sies Marjan. This year, CFDA CEO Steve Kolb stressed that he wanted a more inclusive, diverse event. He told WWD, “We truly want the event to celebrate the full creative spectrum and richness of American fashion. Just think of how much fashion is changing, and the diversity of our industry. Designers with broad cultural backgrounds and political ideas are expressing their experiences and beliefs in their collections. Their work deserves greater acknowledgment, acceptance and visibility.”

Read the full list below:

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, and Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for the Row

Menswear Designer of the Year Award: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, James Jebbia for Supreme, Thom Browne, and Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Paul Andrew, Stuart Vevers for Coach, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Irene Neuwirth, and Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for the Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Mike Amiri for Amiri, Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Diane von Furstenberg

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Narciso Rodriguez

Founder’s Award: Carolina Herrera

Media Award: Edward Enninful

International Award: Donatella Versace


No more articles